Namoi NRM region

Regional summary

Map of the region

The Namoi catchment region covers 42 000 sq km and supports a population of 94 000 people across 14 local government areas. The main towns include Barraba, Gunnedah, Manilla, Narrabri, Nundle, Quirindi, Tamworth, Walgett and Werris Creek.

The region contains three distinct landform types - tablelands, slopes and plains, each with distinctive patterns of drainage, soils, native vegetation, settlement and land use. The plains have been extensively developed for both grazing and dryland and irrigated agriculture (cereals, cotton, pulses and oilseeds).

The dominant watercourse is the Namoi River. Its tributaries arise from the Liverpool Ranges in the south, the Great Dividing Range in the east and the Nandewar Range to the north. The river and associated wetlands and floodplains have been extensively modified to support irrigated agriculture and expanding population. Groundwater is a significant resource in the Namoi catchment and has been extensively developed for irrigation and stock and domestic purposes, with the highest rate of groundwater use in New South Wales.

The region contains some nationally listed ecological communities, including Brigalow, grassy White Box woodlands and Semi-evergreen vine thicket. Goran Lake on the Liverpool Plains is a significant ephemeral wetland and supports a wide assemblage of rare, endangered and vulnerable species. When flooded, the area sustains large numbers of waterbirds.

Biodiversity summary

Biodiversity summaries and species lists for the Namoi region have been produced by the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts using the Australian Heritage Assessment Tool.

For information visit: Biodiversity summaries and species lists for natural resource management regions 


The Namoi Catchment Management Authority Manages this region.

For more information visit: