Murray NRM region

Regional summary

Map of the region

The Murray catchment covers 35 500 sq km and supports 101 000 people living in 12 local government municipalities. It is bounded by the Murray River to the south, the Murrumbidgee catchment divide to the north, the Australian Alps to the east and the confluence of the Murray and Murrumbidgee Rivers to the west. Natural features of the catchment include the Kosciuszko National Park (156 500 ha of which fall within the eastern part of the catchment), 53 000 ha of Barmah-Millewa red gum forest (the largest natural red gum forest in the world), along with significant ecological communities including Grassy Box Woodlands, temperate native grasslands and Buloke Woodlands. Towns include Albury, Khancoban, Tumbarumba, Holbrook, Culcairn, Berrigan, Jerilderie, Deniliquin, Moulamein, and Corowa.

The catchment has three major landscape regions:

  • the upper Murray , characterised by higher rainfall and steep to undulating terrain
  • the southwest slopes in the central part of the catchment, characterised by gently undulating hills
  • the western part of the catchment characterised by flat riverine floodplain.

The region has a highly developed and diverse agricultural sector, with grazing, cropping, irrigation, forestry and horticulture the main enterprises. The catchment plays a significant role in Australia's agricultural production, with an annual production value in excess of $800 million.

Biodiversity summary

Biodiversity summaries and species lists for the Murray region have been produced by the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts using the Australian Heritage Assessment Tool.

For information visit: Biodiversity summaries and species lists for natural resource management regions 


The Murray Catchment Management Authority manages this region.

For more information visit: