Lachlan NRM region

Regional summary

Map of the region

The Lachlan catchment region covers an area of 84 700 sq km, extending from the western perimeter of the Great Dividing Range in the east to the vast Riverine Plains in the west. The catchment's population is more than 100 000 people. It generates 14 per cent of NSW's agricultural production from about 10 per cent of the state's land area. The region also encompasses the areas of 26 local government organisations.

The Lachlan catchment is unique in the Murray-Darling Basin in that the Lachlan River terminates in wetlands and effluent creeks in the lower part of the catchment. Occasionally the Lachlan flows into the Murrumbidgee River during significant flood events. Lake Cowal, the Booligal wetlands and the Great Cumbung Swamp are just some of the natural features that have been identified as being of national importance. Other reserves and high-quality Crown land also contribute significantly to the resources of the catchment.

Biodiversity summary

Biodiversity summaries and species lists for the Lachlan region have been produced by the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts using the Australian Heritage Assessment Tool.

For information visit: Biodiversity summaries and species lists for natural resource management regions 


Lachlan Catchment Management Authority manages this region.

For more information visit: