NRM regions

Natural resource management regions are based on catchments or bioregions. The Australian Government, in association with state and territory governments, has identified 54 regions covering all of Australia.

History of the regions

The boundaries for each of the 54 regions were established in agreements between Australian, state and territory governments between December 2002 and June 2004.

The bilateral agreements were signed as part of the second phase of the Natural Heritage Trust.

Under Caring for our Country there have been minor changes to some boundaries.

Regional boundaries may change throughout the life-cycle of Caring for our Country under state-controlled legislation and regional groups.