National Reserve System

The National Reserve System is a critical component of the Government's efforts to protect terrestrial biodiversity. Australia's reserve system now totals more than 9300 protected areas covering nearly 13 per cent of the country. It is also one of the world's great conservation partnerships.

Expanding the National Reserve System has been a priority as it creates a network for conserving examples of our natural landscapes and native plants and animals for future generations. Forty-four properties totalling almost 1.3 million hectares have been added to the system with further acquisitions planned.

Since July 2008 Indigenous communities have declared 17 new Indigenous Protected Areas covering over three million hectares. Across Australia a total of 42 declared Indigenous Protected Areas now cover over 23.9 million hectares of Indigenous owned and managed lands. Thirty-five new projects have also been given support to develop plans of management incorporating Indigenous ecological knowledge.

More information